Learning a new language – Arabic

I enjoy learning foreign languages so Arabic has been a nice, new challenge for me over the past year in Dubai. For the first eights months I took lessons of Modern Standard Arabic or fushá (اللغة العربية الفصحىal-lughah al-ʻArabīyah al-fuṣḥá ‘the most eloquent Arabic language’) with a teacher from Damascus. That has been useful for listening to BBC Arabic radio and reading newspapers. Also my children learn fushá at school four times a week so this way I can try to keep track of their progress. Starting a meeting with a few phrases in Arabic such as `Good morning, my name is… (Sabah el kheir, ana ismi…) I am from… (Ana min…) Nice to meet you (Fursa saida)` can come handy and fast-track trust. For every day basic conversation it turned out that I needed to choose to study one of the regional dialects. So since March I have been taking classes of colloquial Levantine Arabic with a teacher from Lebanon. The fun part of my homework is listening to some songs by Fayrouz to become familiar with a Lebanese accent. Here is one of them

Leave a Reply

